Tarp tent arrival

As i mentioned in the last quick update im off in a matter of weeks for a bike packing adventure in Australia. I decided that this trip would be different from my others as it is mainly off road and that i wanted to go as light as possible. This should hopefully make the ride more enjoyable and a lot less taxing on the bike.

I normally tour with a wild country duolite 2 man tent. Its light at 2kg and reasonably small packing but i wanted to take this to a whole new level. I found tarp tent by following a few other blogs. I opted for the contrail 1 man tent as it light at 0.7kg and packs into 36×10 cm roll. Its awesome fits right into the top compartment of my frame bag. I put it up for the first time yesterday and its surprisingly spacious, easy to put up (they reckon under two minutes) The only things that i will quibble is that it was quite windy and there was a bit of flex in the pole and the things so light that it was hard to fold as it kept trying to take off. But anyway here are a few pics. I will add more as the trip progresses. ImageImageImage

Leave a comment