Salsa Anything Cage 2014

At last the new Salsa Anything cage has arrived. I used the first generation on my Munda Biddi Australian trip. I also purchased Anything Cage bags from Porcelain Rocket.

To be fair. The idea was brilliant 10/10. But unfortunately the loop holes on the back of the cages weren’t. They dident have enough strength due to the cut outs, a simple drop of the bike or a rough rocky section would have them dismount quicker than myself when the going got hard.

Image

 

The new cages I’ve been looking forward to all summer to carry some stuff on some short summer bike packing trips. Unfortunately they didn’t make it in time for summer 2013 even though Salsa said June when i first contacted them. But better late than never.

Well now for the radical redesign.

Image

 

They are basically exactly the same just with a solid mounting plate. Which is good. Simple and effective. My bike got blown over yesterday and the cage is still intact. That’s already a vast improvement. They seem a lot stiffer and i have no worry that these new improved versions are going to last me.

Just bring on a nice lightweight tour to test them out.

Leave a comment