Warm toes for me this winter

Well! The plans are in the making for this winters adventure. Unfortunately due to a small bike habit the savings are not going to stretch to an exotic warm location this year. So the plan is the follow part of the Eurovelo 1 route known as the velo odyssey. It runs from Ilfracombe my home town in Devon to Hendaye on the Spanish border. Its going to be cold as I will be heading out late January into early February. So a couple things on the shopping list. One was some winter waterproof boots. I opted for the Goretex Shimano MT91. They fitted the bill waterproof, warm and look normal enough to walk round town. The quality of the boots seem good. They haven’t leaked ( I have tested by standing in a small stream for 5 minutes) and they are comfy while on the bike and off. I really happy with them.

Image

 

A couple of the good points I see for touring is

A wet campsite doesn’t mean wet socks

No cold feet all day

No need for a change of shoes

Spd or not to Spd

No need to spend ages wrestling with overshoes

So that is a few wins. Haven’t thought of any disadvantages yet.

Il update a bit more when I have completed the trip to see if they are worth the £150 price tag

Though Chainreactioncycles.com had them for £107.99 last week.

Image

 

 

Leave a comment